Thankyou Lara for an amazing stay in your beautiful house! Dry Creek Retreat was just what we were in need of after  months of restrictions and a much needed mini holiday. The house was ample for 2 families, immaculately decorated and finished with every little detail catered for. The welcome supplies, outdoor firepit and speakers, table tennis table and treehouse were our favourite features ... even a second fridge in the garage for extra drinks storage! We can't wait to come back, the serenity, views and overall comfort were all we'd hoped for and more. Till next time!!!

Sharee Warhurst, October, 2020

The photos for once are a true reflection of the house. Three couples enjoyed three nights on the long weekend and wouldn't hesitate in revisiting.

David Crane, June, 2020

We knew the moment we walked into this holiday home we would be booking it again, second time around it has not disappointed.  It’s wonderful to walk into a spotless home with welcoming music playing in the background and a gift hamper full of chocolates, wine, eggs, tomatoes and other breakfast items.  The property is peaceful with fantastic views and the home is beautifully furnished - it truly is a wonderful place to go for a retreat. We are certainly looking forward to our next visit.

Rob + Silvie, March, 2020

Thank you for a wonderful long weekend Lara.  You have presented the home beautifully, it's relaxed, luxurious and very comfortable.  We love the stonework and the timber benchtops - special mention to the Builder (nice one!), and the multiple living areas along with the lovely furnishings, make this the best place to stay in Bonnie Doon!  Thank you for the welcome hamper - it was delicious!  Looking forward to the next time we stay in March.

Rob + Silvie, January 2020

We had a lovely weekend celebrating our Dad's 80th birthday.  The house was beautiful and all the 'extras' were a lovely touch.  The helicopter was such a special way to celebrate a birthday.  We will definitely be back.  Thank you Lara + Cam.

Dewars, Bradleys + Arnols, January 2020

Great house and the view is fantastic. We were 4 couples staying in Bonnie Doon to ride the rail trail and it was the perfect house and location. The house was spotless and the extra touches that Lara provided were well appreciated. The use of the shed was great for our 8 bikes. I would highly recommend this house especially for a group, you wont be disappointed ...

Sharon Reeves, November 2019

We go away with the same group of friends every year and have done so for the last ten years.  We have stayed in some lovely homes but this one was simply stunning. It’s more than a 5 star property.  The attention to detail and communication with the owners truly made it feel like our home for the weekend.  Having the two outdoor seating areas was great if the wind was too cold on one side.  Everything you could want or require is thought of including soft towels, scented soaps and a welcome hamper.  Perfect views, comfy beds and a cozy fireplace.  Simply stunning!  It is also a great location if you like to cycle and hike.

Agie Duda, September 2019

Hi Lara.  Thankyou for such a lovely weekend.  Dry Creek Retreat is an immaculately presented and well appointed house perfect for a relaxing weekend away with friends. "Serenity" might be a bit cliche for Bonnie Doon but Dry Creek Retreat oozes serenity with its amazing outlook, peace and quiet,  right through to a relaxing bath, fluffy towels and a cosy fire already burning on our arrival. Not much has been overlooked. Highly recommended and hopefully one day we will come back.

Fiona Fraser, July 2019

What a beautiful house in an absolutely gorgeous setting!  The house was fitted out with everything you could possibly ever need and we really appreciated the welcome pack on arrival!  We loved everything about our stay and would certainly recommend the house to anyone!  Thank you again.

Hi Lara.  The stay was lovely.  We loved the beautiful view and the super comfy beds and the great back yard and treehouse.  We loved the fire and lighting it.  The view over the mountain is spectacular and we saw 6 kangaroos and 2 foxes.  Charlotte (aged 9)

The McVeighs, July 2019

We recently stayed at Dry Creek Retreat for a girls’ weekend to celebrate a 50th birthday.  From the time we arrived we felt extra special, greeted by the roaring fire already lit and going!  The house was just wonderful and worthy of a 5 star rating with everything you could think of being there.  There was no fighting for the best room as they were all beautifully furnished, with every room providing an amazing view.  After settling in with a champagne, the chopper soon landed in the yard to take us all for a sightseeing trip over Lake Eildon … as one of the girls said ‘we felt like rockstars’.  Cam provided complimentary and interesting facts from the sky!  If you can fit a Helicopter ride in it is well worth the time and money.  Returning to the house we were on a high and continued what turned out to be one of those very special weekends that we will all remember for a very long time.  Our hosts Cam and Lara could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed – they do this holiday rental business very well!  We so highly recommend Dry Creek Retreat for any type of stay as it would be an excellent choice for families, a group of couples or as we did a special girls weekend away.  Thanks again for an amazing weekend!!!

Cath, Klarissa, Tracey, Karen + Mary, May 2019

We travelled with another family of 4 and spent a beautiful Easter break at Dry Creek Retreat.  Having read each review of the property, our expectations were high. We were not disappointed. From the generous welcome hamper down to the champagne stopper, everything was well appointed and catered for. Our children played in the surrounding grounds, cubby house and table tennis all day. Not a screen was watched. Thank you Lara, we enjoyed our stay and we have already highly recommended the property to others.

Toni, Darren, family + friends, April 2019

Thank you Lara for such a wonderful stay. We have so enjoyed this house, beautiful location, views and facilities.  We have explored the area and had lots of fun having BBQs sitting on the decks reading, having games nights and movie nights.  We are all leaving having had a wonderful time, fully relaxed.

 

With lots of thanks,

Amanda, Andrew, Kylie, Steve, Georgie + Rob, March 2019

Where do  you start with a review of Dry Creek Retreat?  The house is gorgeous perched up on a hill with spectacular views.  The outside is perfect for enjoying these views with very comfortable settings on either side of the house - perfect to sit away from the glare of the sun out the back in the mid afternoon, and then move to the front area to watch the kangaroos emerge as the sun sets, and enjoy a BBQ.  Inside, the layout is excellent to comfortably handle 8 adults, and the fittings of a very high standard - but what we all noticed were the little touches everywhere that made you realise that Lara put thought and effort into this property.  It is not an average rental property that you arrive and you are just another tenant - you feel like a guest.  From the starter supplies and the handwritten welcome note through to the Dindi soaps and lotions throughout.  The mirrors in the rooms and the quality bedside lights, stereo with outside speakers, switches and an iPhone cable supplied.  All of these are among the many items mentioned by our group throughout the long weekend - some of them seemingly small items - but telling about the property and the owners.  And then there is Lara herself - super responsive and really easy and friendly to deal with all the time throughout the enquiry, letting and staying stages.  After three wonderful nights - we all agreed this was the best property we have stayed at for our weekends away.  And more importantly - we all agreed we have to return.

Doug Hughes + friends, March 2019

We have now stayed at Dry Creek Retreat on three occasions during the month of January.  With this location it really doesn’t matter if the Lake is 90% or 50% full you still have quick and close access to the Lake to load a boat or ski, via car or 4WD.  The accommodation itself is the perfect home away from home. We are very picky in our accommodation requests and this place ticks all the boxes and more.  From the welcome hamper on arrival, the beautiful aroma of the home to the outside seating area, it really has it all.  The fully appointed kitchen allows you to cook quality meals.  The cleanliness and set up of the place also attracted us to repeat stays as we have a young family and this location allows room to move and supervise them at all times.  Wildlife is also an added bonus for the kids to see.  Car/boat parking is also a great set up as they are undercover and in the January Summer heat it is much appreciated.  Outside extra fridge freezer is great for us larger groups.  If you’re looking for somewhere new to stay, I suggest you look here.  Lara has been amazing to communicate with.  I doubt you will find a better set up for your next family holiday!

Nicole, Marko + family, January 2019

We spent the Australia Day long weekend at Lara’s place and it was amazing! It is a beautiful home in an idyllic location, the photos don’t do it justice, it really is beautifully decorated. There was nothing that wasn’t there if we needed it from kitchen utensils, kitchen staples and cleaning supplies. The beds were very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets if needed and great quality towels and soaps, shampoos and conditioners were provided. The day we arrived was 40 degrees and Lara kindly contacted us beforehand to see what time we would be arriving, so she could turn on the air conditioning and fans so the house would be lovely and cool when we arrived which was a very welcome respite! The house is located just past the Bonnie Doon Hotel which offers a lovely (and enormous!) meal and easy access to the rail trail that runs all the way to Mansfield. On the cooler days our children enjoyed riding their bikes from Lara’s house down to the track. There was easy access to the lake from the house even though the water was very low, only a short drive to the boat ramp to launch the boat for a fun day on the lake fishing, swimming and tubing. We travelled as two families and the house easily accomodated all eight of us. The living area is very well designed broken into two separate zones so while the kids were watching a movie the adults could enjoy a wine overlooking the views down through the valley and the lake. We would all happily recommend Lara’s home, it was fabulous!

Melanie Mills, January 2019

Our rail trail riding group comprising four couples met for our annual weekend away this year at Dry Creek Retreat in Bonnie Doon. We enjoyed every minute of our three night stay in very comfortable accommodation sited in a wonderful location.  With multiple options to gather and relax together inside and enjoy the warmth of the fire in the evening, or outside on the decking to catch the morning sun or take in the late afternoon views over the lake and hills, this property is an absolute delight and has set a new benchmark for our next gathering.

Ian, Denise Russom + friends, November 2018

Good afternoon Lara,

I just wanted to take a moment to say what a wonderful break we had at Dry Creek Retreat. From the moment we arrived and saw the delicious goodies on the bench waiting for us, to the gorgeous hand soaps and toiletries in the bathroom, plenty of wood for cosy fires and high quality linen – you have thought of everything! The kids had a wonderful time in the treehouse, playing hide and seek in your huge yard, board and card games that you supplied, sliding down the grassy hills, playing table tennis and riding their bikes around the yard, while the parents sat by the outside fire and relaxed. As much as we loved the front verandah and its breathtaking view, we actually spent most of our time on the comfy couch on the back verandah (which still has a wonderful view!) because it was a sheltered area and a wonderfully warm, sunshiny spot to read a book.  How’s the serenity???  Thank you again.

The Bradleys + The McKinleys, November 2018

A most magnificent weekend at Dry Creek Retreat. Everything was perfect. Having previously stayed we were excited to take four friends to help us enjoy our second stay and it did not disappoint.  The home is immaculate with plenty of space for six to eight people to move around, the views are stunning and there is everything you  need, right down to the lovely linen and towels. One of the highlights of the weekend was our private Friday night dinner which was prepared and served to us by Ben from High Country Food Co. a local Chef who came to the house and provided us with a meal we will always remember.  Ben cooked, set the table, served and best of all cleaned up and left us enough food for lunch on Sunday.  It was a very special night and exciting to be sampling all the local produce.  A big thank you to our Host, Lara for suggesting this special dinner it was well worth it.  We will be back that’s for sure. 

Trish, Bill + Co., October 2018

"We loved our stay at Dry Creek Retreat.  The host is super friendly and has literally thought of everything to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.  The property itself is stunning.  Highly recommended.  Thanks again."

Shayne + Andrew, October 2018

Lara's home was nothing short of spectacular. From the endless amount of amenities offered to the sweet breakfast basket Lara had organised for us to the beautiful, scenic view from the alfresco - you couldn't ask for a better house or a more accommodating host. Be prepared to cuddle up next to the indoor fireplace, the sounds of nature and animals outside the bedroom windows and the opportunity to toast your marshmellows under the stars outside in the open fireplace! You won't find another place who takes pride on cleanliness and thoughtfulness. Thank you again, Lara. We truly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

Nina, August 2018

Thank you for making available a wonderful property.  We loved our stay there.  The entire home was extremely clean and presentable, everyone felt very comfortable.  The view from the home was beautiful, we will definitely be back.  Thank you.

Gilles, July 2018

Dear Lara.  We have had a wonderful stay in your lovely and well thoughtout holiday retreat!  We biked the Rail Trail and Rutherglen wine region, visited The Mansfield Zoo, went up the mountains, explored Mansfield and surrounds, experienced the quirky movie theatre and relaxed by the fire (both indoors and outdoors) with lovely local wines and marshmellows that you provided.  Thank you for the mid stay firewood top up ~ coming from apartment living in the City, the fire and beautiful views were the perfect tonic for our hectic lives.  All the little extra touches throughout the house were much noticed and appreciated.  Thanks so much.

Nikki, Brian + Ethan, July 2018

We had a wonderful long weekend at Dry Creek Retreat.  Beautiful house, lovely beds and linens, we wanted for nothing!  It caters for all the family.  The wood fire was even burning when we got there.  We will be back to stay again.  Lara was wonderful.  Highly recommend.  Thank you.  

Rebecca, June 2018

Fantastic property in a great location.  Modern house with a great view and nice outside areas, lovely amenities, clean, neat, well furnished, good heating and cooling and comfy beds.  Our kids had a ball with space for bike riding.  There was lots of wildlife and an amazing cubby tree house.  A short drive from Bonnie Doon township.  Lara was fantastic to deal with throughout, left us a nice food hamper and was very accessible and welcoming in her communication.  Highly recommend and hope to return.

Chris, April 2018

Amazing property, breathtaking views, quiet and peaceful location, beautifully decorated to create a calm and homely atmosphere.  From the moment we entered the property, it certainly exceeded our expectations.  All necessities were available and more.  Not one thing had been missed, it made our stay all the more relaxing and stress free.  Don't change a thing! Thank you Lara.

Sally + Tina, March 2018

Dry Creek Retreat is a beautiful house.  It's well equipped, has quality linen and is very clean.  The location is great for those wanting to explore the local area for fishing, cycling, swimming and water sports.  Lara is a responsive, hospitable host who welcomed us with a thoughtful hamper.  Lovely place to also just relax, we enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Edwina, March 2018

Dry Creek Retreat is a quality home, suitable for families who appreciate privacy, peaceful views, great walking tracks with easy proximity to water activities and local towns. Everything about this home was discerning, it was especially thoughtfully stocked with things we needed plus more. Eg: mozzie coils, bbq wipes, gorgeous soaps, breakfast hamper. The linen was terrific (white, white sheets, lovely fluffy towels) and you would be hard pushed to find cleaner accommodation anywhere. Top this off with particularly tasteful interior design choices and it was our pleasure to spend time there.

Joanna, Dec 2017

Absolute bliss this place!! Loved every second. Beautifully located and presented incredibly well. Stylish and new amenities and nice little touches everywhere. But that view has to be the best touch. Absolutely scintillating! Thanks so much Lara for letting us stay in your wonderful property!

Ethan, Oct 2017

We had an exceptional stay at Dry Creek Retreat. Lara and Cam contacted to confirm our arrangements and when we arrived, the fire was roaring and there was fresh bread, eggs, milk in the fridge and a generous breakfast basket. The house is well kitted out with modern appliances, clean linens and tasteful furnishings. The house has a beautiful setting overlook lake Eildon, and is nicely landscaped around the house. We will definitely be back... Thanks Lara and Cam!

Sally, September 2017

We had a weekend getaway at Dry Creek Retreat and loved every minute. House is beautiful, clean and had everything you could ask for. When we arrived the fire was going and there was a selection of goodies for breakfast. (Thanks to Lara the owner for making us feel so welcome.) Will definitely be back!

Lee, September 2017

This is the second time we have stayed here! We love coming here. Im quite particular and the house is always immaculate, kitchen fully equipped- I was even able to make a cake! warm beds, amazing soap and great hospitality by the owner. Wont stay anywhere else in Bonnie Doon.

Jenna, August 2017

My husband and I were looking for a beautiful, comfortable and scenic house in the country to take our 1 year old boy and both sets of grandparents as a thank you for all the babysitting they do. Lara's house was absolutely perfect! Being mid-winter we had the fire going all day, we ate lots, lounged on the couches, went for short walks and trips to nearby towns. I indulged in taking long baths in the evening and we all had such a relaxing time. Lara had set up the outdoor fireplace for us so we toasted marshmallows and roasted potatoes, the adults climbed up to the cubby house and we pointed out kangaroos for our little boy. There was everything we needed and the place was spotlessly clean. It was ridiculously comfortable and I can't wait until we can go back again!

Elena, July 2017

This is a stunning property and beautiful property, just perfect for a very relaxing weekend away. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the house is equipped with everything you could possibly need. Lara is a marvelous host and supplied us with gorgeous soaps and other bits for a fabulous weekend away. Thank you

Lisa, June 2017

What a beautiful stay!! The property is spectacular in every sense. Location, style and fitout. Lara was responsive and so easy to deal with. It was a weekend away for my birthday and there was a personal note welcoming us along with some breakfast necessities and a chocolate treat - not to mention the fire which was started making the place so welcoming and warm. The place is certainly loved and all the little details were considered. The linen was beautiful and we had little individual coloured soaps which was great with 4 different people sharing a bathroom. Plenty of firewood chopped for our use and we made good use of the board games. Boonie Doon pub was great for dinner and the Mansfield area is ace for exploring. We enjoyed lots of walks from the home. Perfect getaway for being active and relaxing!

Debbie, May 2017

This was a glorious country escape with sweeping views of the lake and countryside. The outdoor fire pit, indoor log fire and emaculately clean property makes the stay so enjoyable. We basically stayed inside for two days it was so good. The furnishings and amenities provided were also well thought out. An easy drive to local attractions too. the Mansfield area is ace for exploring. We enjoyed lots of walks from the home. Perfect getaway for being active and relaxing!

Megan, April 2017

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend with friends. Well set out, beautiful views, very clean and has everything you need for a lovely weekend away. I would especially like to comment on the attention to detail and the beautiful quality soaps which were locally made and wafted beautifully around the house. We will be back!

Monica, March 2017

What a perfectly relaxing spot. This modern house is beautiful, with everything you could ever need. The complimentary breakfast hamper was a lovely touch. Comfortable beds, loads of space, great layout (to suit two families), beautifully decorated, a cubby house and the view! The most stunning view overlooking the lake and the hills, with plenty of birds (cockatoos, eagles and parrots) and kangaroos to spot. We cooked a few BBQs, sat out on the deck and soaked up the view. Its a short walk down to the lake, a great spot for boating and fishing. Great for all ages, kids and grandparents loved it here.

Phil, February 2017

If your scrolling through accomadation homes in the Bonnie Doon area, STOP right now. It has everything you could want and more. From the welcoming blue tongue we saw casually strolling across the driveway as we drove up to the home for the first time to the kangaroos in the evening just meters away. You will be left feeling very special and relaxing while you are there. We stayed for a week. Lake level was at 80%. Its a 5min drive to the Boonie Doon ramps and you can sit out on the back deck looking at the lake, its that close. The breeze you also get through the house is very refreshing. However they do have AC to cool you further. Bed linen was supplied, kitchen is well stocked and equiped to cook anything you like. Dishwasher easy to use and if your a coffee freak like us, this also supplied. Plenty of sitting space on the couches for families and enough different areas to go off and read a good book. There are far too many extras to list that were a suprise bonus. But the pictures do not lie, they are current and house is exactly like what is described. Proberly even better than you imagine. If you want a relaxing experience and a well thought out setting, then do yourself a favour. Book it. We will be back for sure.

Nicole, January 2017

Lara was fantastic to deal with and we had a great stay at the house. Photos are accurate and the place was immaculate. Will definitely recommend to friends and may stay again :)

Peter, December 2016

We had a very comfortable stay with all the modern touches. Dry Creek Resort has the perfect accommodation for either 2 families or 8 adults. Everything was provided to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. A fully stocked kitchen, including basic condiments, a lovely breakfast hamper, good quality linen, towels and natural soaps awaited our arrival. This property is very much loved and cared for by its owners who take great pride in making your stay as enjoyable as they can. We enjoyed having a BBQ with our overseas friends whilst sitting around the lovely round outdoor table on the balcony where we all enjoyed the beautiful views along with a magnificent sunset whilst enjoying a glass of wine with nibbles. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

Craig, November 2016

As soon as we turned into the driveway you could tell that Dry Creek Retreat was going to be serene! We stayed with six adults and three young children and it accommodated us very well, the property is huge and offers plenty of things to do, the BBQ was well used and we even got the fire pit going one of the nights. Every morning I enjoyed a cup of tea on the porch and overlooked the hills which allowed me to briefly forget life's troubles. As soon as we all departed to head back to the real world we instantly missed the place and the camaraderie that it allowed us to build and enjoy between families and it has inspired us to start a traditional family get together. We have even contacted the owners to ask what mattresses they use because we all had comfortable great sleeps. Every luxury is accounted for here! Dry Creek Retreat is highly recommended!!

Anthony, July 2016

We had a lovely stay. The lay out of the house is very good with two bedrooms and a bathroom on both sides of the large living area. We were two families so it gave us privacy. Very close to the Great Victorian Rail Trail, and a nice walk into Bonnie Doon across the bridge. The kitchen had everything we needed and the place was very peaceful.

Desley, June 2016

Dry Creek Retreat was everything and more than was advertised. The house and surrounds are kept in pristine condition, with a fantastic wood heater with wood supplied, not one item that you require for stay has been left out, from an outdoor candle to amazing natural soap and bathroom products, high quality linen and comfy beds. The kitchen is just perfect with not an item required available at easy reach and find and the breakfast goodies of free range eggs, avocados, tomatoes were a wonderful suprise. The outdoor areas are perfect for views and entertaining with great outdoor seating and table ideas. I cannot fault one area of this stay. The easy access to the main road, but still quiet and not close to neighbors is also a bonus. Will definitely return.

Joanne, June 2016

We had a group of friends with children stay at the retreat on the Queen's birthday weekend. It was well laid out. A big living room in the middle, with a well equipped kitchen, dining table and a couple of areas for lounging. The wood fire in the middle of the room was a highlight. The morning sun would stream in at the back of the house, where there were outdoor couches, and verandah at the front for the view and watching the changing light with the sunset. The fire pit was also well used by our group. Rooms were large and the bathrooms lovely. Everything was thought of by the owners - I cannot recommend it enough.

Claire, June 2016

Beautifully kept and in pristine condition, a wonderful place to unwind and relax overlooking the lake and valley.

David, April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night family stay at Dry Creek over Easter! Beautiful clean house, kitchen equipped with absolutely everything you need to cook & serve with, even cling wrap, paper towels, foil & baking paper! Lovely decor, linen, very comfortable beds, quality soaps, shampoo, hair dryer. Great deck to enjoy casual meals by the BBQ & wildlife spotting (we saw Eagles, Rosellas & a couple of Kangaroos). Laundry fully equipped down to washing powder & fabric softener. Wood fire kept the house cosy at night with plenty of timber supplied. Just pack your toothbrush go!

Rosemary, March 2016

The house was beautifully fitted out, matching the serenity of the area perfectly. Our host provided us with a lovely breakfast hamper upon arrival, along with many little touches such as beautiful local soaps and shampoos in the bathrooms. The space provided many seating areas, for a very comfortable stay. The house had an amazing view with the most beautiful sunsets in the evenings. If I were to describe my ideal holiday location for summer or winter, this would be it! The tree house was a great addition also! We were close to Lake Eildon so plenty of areas to explore within walking distance. All in all, it was a fantastic stay and I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.

Stef March, 2016

We stayed at this place last weekend and wow is all I can say! The house was amazing and extremely clean which is a huge factor for me. All carpet and walls were spotless and the extra touches were lovely. Coffee pods, board games etc. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again.

Jenna, February 2016

We spent a long weekend at the Dry Creek Resort and the house felt like home to us. Surrounded by beautiful nature and tranquility, close to the bike trail and Mansfield/Bonnie Doon. House was very welcoming, clean and well equipped. Our kids enjoyed the cubby house, campfire and amazing outdoor space. You can watch kangaroos in the morning or evening and herds of white cocatooks in the sunrise. We loved the place and would certainly recommend it for family holiday or relaxing weekend. Host was very acommodating and responsive, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you!

Katarina, January 2016

Please reload

GUEST REVIEWS

ENQUIRIES

For all general enquiries please use the contact form below

OR send an accommodation booking request

© 2020 DRY CREEK RETREAT LUXURY COUNTRY ACCOMMODATION & HELI CHARTER

BONNIE DOON MANSFIELD LAKE EILDON VICTORIA

PRIVACY POLICY : TERMS OF USE

SITE DESIGN & CREATIVE BY YOULISSYS